Friday, December 20, 2013

Coronation Street - Dec 11-13, 2013



Happily watching Robin's latest appearances in the soap "Coronation Street"! So far I've watched Dec 11-16, but Robin wasn't in the episodes from the 16th. I had great luck in finding them on YouTube! There are these mysterious people - it's either a bunch of different people or just one using different accounts - who upload the latest episodes right after they are shown and then take them down within a day, so if I act fast I can grab them. I guess the network that broadcasts this show doesn't allow it to stay up indefinitely.

First episode: Dec 11:

Robin is introduced to the show as aging rock star Rodney Purvis using the stage name of Richie Duvries. A regular character in the show, Dennis Tanner is an old friend of his and excited about seeing him again. They meet in a restaurant ("Nick's Bistro", I think?) in which (I think) the daughter of his wife(?) owns. I think. Ha ha. They sit around a table and talk of old days. Richie used to be in a band called "The Power", which had a hit in 1965 with a song called "Sweets of the Night". They used to tour with famous bands like Manfred Mann and the Yardbirds. He tells them that there's only two original members left, as one had died and one has emphysema. They ask him if he'd like to play a gig at the restaurant, and he is interested.

Dec 13 (part 1)

There are two parts to the show on some of the days. In part one there's not much of Richie. He walks into the pub and everyone says hi to him.



Dec 13 (part 2) They talk at the restaurant about the gig. Richie laughs about the place, but the woman with Dennis (wife?) says that the occasional celebrity does pop in. Two more women come in and the overweight one is introduced to Richie and sits down at their table. Richie talks about touring with the Yardbirds in their early days when Eric Clapton was with them. The overweight girl becomes interested and says how she writes to Eric and occasionally gets a photo back from him. She starts getting interested in Richie and tells him how she's looking forward to seeing his band play. He looks nervous and hurriedly leaves. They talk afterward of dressing '60s for the show and how she could dress up like Mary Quant!

Dec 16 (parts 1+2)

No Robin. But, there is some talk amongst the characters about the gig. The woman who owns the restaurant is hesitant about the gig being held there. Later, Dennis talks to a young woman who works in the restaurant. They have a typical "Older person - young person" music exchange with her never having heard of any of Richie's hits from the '60s, and how 1965 might as well have been the dinosaur age.

Robin's character is definitely the most energetic character on this show! Everyone else is so dour and wallowing in misery and drama. I just fast-forwarded through most of the other stories going on. One other story kind of captured my interest, though. Cute little blond boy in a red pullover sweater, can't resist listening to little British kids talk with their adorable accent! hee hee. That story is something about his dad having done something really wrong, possibly illegal? And his brother not wanting him to see the boy, and the mom not being a very involved mom, and a grandma trying to hold them all together? Something convoluted like that, but I'd be interested in finding out what the dad did that was supposed to be so bad his own brother and ex-wife don't want him around the kid!

Anyway, great seeing Robin again, as peppy and happy as ever. Best actor on the show, really!

Monday, December 2, 2013

First look at some new Robin!

Looking forward to seeing Robin in Coronation Street very soon! Check out this "first look" at an episode of it here:

http://www.soapsquawk.co.uk

Plus, an article about it here:

http://www.express.co.uk

Can't wait!!

Saturday, October 12, 2013

Happy 63rd birthday, Robin!

Birthday time again for our fave actor!

Wishing him all the best. There hasn't been much news to post lately, so that's why this blog has been quiet. I did see where he made an appearance at the London Film Memorabilia Convention on Sept 21, but I've not read any reports of how it went. But the best upcoming news I've heard is that he'll soon be appearing again on some episodes of "Coronation Street"! Details and a nice recent photo of him can be seen here:

'Coronation Street' casts Robin Askwith as rocker Ritchie

Don't know when that will start, but am looking forward to finally having something to review here again! :)

Thursday, August 15, 2013

ReelStreets.com - Horror Hospital

Hi again - yes, it's been forever since I've had anything of interest to write about, Robin news has been nonexistent (that I know about) and I've not been able to get ahold of any more of his appearances (although I'll occasionally give a half-hearted google search on him when I think about it) Anyway, here's something which is pretty neat, although they really should add more to it. They've taken a few scenes from Horror Hospital and tried to take photos of how those places look now. www.realstreets.com
Anyone who might live in the area and can easily photograph some of the Horror Hospital locations, I'm sure this site would be happy to hear from you!

Friday, April 12, 2013

It's a Celebrity Knockout! 1978

Good news! The 2nd "It's a Celebrity Knockout" game show Robin played on has surfaced recently on YouTube!







As you might remember, I talked about the 1977 one in this post. This is more of the same. You don't see Robin too much, he mainly runs around with buckets of water, and you can also (not) see him hidden inside a big monkey suit at the beginning. He doesn't get to say anything, unfortunately, like some of the other players do. He's on the "Lord's Taverners" team and they win! Yay! You can watch the whole show here: And read all the details about it here ! Now we have to hope the 1979 one will become available soon! And...happy HALF birthday to Robin! I always remember this, because his HALF birthday is on my son's birthday! So happy birthday to my new little TEN year old as well! :)

Friday, March 22, 2013

Vote for your fave Robin movie!

Hasn't been any Robin news lately that I'm aware of, but that's why this blog has been a bit quiet as of late. I did just find this movie voting thing someone had on "Ranker" for Robin, thought it would be fun to link to. Vote and let's see which one stays at the top!

------------------------------------------------------------- Best Robin Askwith Movies List

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Ray's Daily Diary

Cute little 2 minute video clip from "Ray's Daily Diary", where Ray Cooney, writer/director of the 2013 comedy "Run For Your Wife", comes to visit Robin and chat over tea and biscuits. Wish it were longer! Or described where they were! I'm assuming it's somewhere he's staying while in England doing his play, plus it definitely looks like England out of his window. A rented condo or his own? And a dog! Wish he introduced us to him/her and told us its name. And...Linda Hayden?!? Are they back together? Or is she just there because she has a part in this new film too? So many questions! Robin looks great! Linda doesn't really look like herself to me, and she seems a little grumpy. I want to see MORE! Sheesh. Two minutes of nothing having been said is a little annoying. But, fun to watch nonetheless!

Friday, January 18, 2013

Run For Your Wife 2013 Preview!!!

Guess what! Looks like Robin's in a brand new film! "Run for your Wife", which is based on a play he appeared in a few years back. Don't know what character he played in that, but from this preview it looks like he has a small part as a bus driver. In the clip below, a preview of his part can be seen starting at 3:25, and then there is a brief bit of him being interviewed. The movie itself looks a bit silly, and I wonder if it'll ever make its way over here to the U.S. I'll keep my fingers crossed and hope it shows up on Netflix's foreign movie "instant streaming" selection. They always seem to carry a ton of them, especially the really bad ones, probably because they get them for pretty cheap.